What is a NSW Act?

An Act (sometimes called a Statute) of New South Wales (a NSW Act) is a law that has been:

  • passed by both Houses of the Parliament of New South Wales (that is, the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council), and
  • assented to by the Governor on behalf of the Queen.

A proposed NSW Act is called a Bill while it is in the Parliament and may be amended by either House of Parliament during its passage. See also How legislation is made.

This information is limited to how to read NSW Acts and does not necessarily explain how the Acts of the Commonwealth and those of the other States and Territories should be read.

Last updated 30 August 2020 at 14:31