

Constitution Amendment (Prorogation of Parliament) Act 2011 No 3

[2011-3]



Status Information

Currency of version

Repealed version for 16 May 2011 to 16 May 2011 (accessed 26 November 2024 at 20:47)

Legislation on this site is usually updated within 3 working days after a change to the legislation.

Provisions in force

The provisions displayed in this version of the legislation have all commenced.

Notes-

Repeal

The Act was repealed by sec 30C of the Interpretation Act 1987 No 15 with effect from 17.5.2011.

Authorisation

This version of the legislation is compiled and maintained in a database of legislation by the Parliamentary Counsel's Office and published on the NSW legislation website, and is certified as the form of that legislation that is correct under section 45C of the Interpretation Act 1987.

File last modified 17 May 2011

Constitution Amendment (Prorogation of Parliament) Act 2011 No 3



Contents

Long title	3
1 Name of Act	3
2 Commencement	3
3 Amendment of Constitution Act 1902 No 32	3

Constitution Amendment (Prorogation of Parliament) Act 2011 No 3



An Act to amend the *Constitution Act 1902* to restrict the prorogation of Parliament before a general election.

1 Name of Act

This Act is the Constitution Amendment (Prorogation of Parliament) Act 2011.

2 Commencement

This Act commences on the date of assent to this Act.

3 Amendment of Constitution Act 1902 No 32

- (1) Section 10 Time and place for holding sessions of Parliament Omit "He may also prorogue the Legislative Council and Assembly by proclamation or otherwise whenever he deems it expedient.".
- (2) Section 10A Insert after section 10:

10A Prorogation of Parliament

- (1) The Governor may, by proclamation, prorogue the Legislative Council and Assembly whenever the Governor considers it expedient to do so (subject to this section and section 24B).
- (2) The Premier or Executive Council may not advise the Governor to prorogue the Legislative Council and Assembly on a date that is before 26 January in the calendar year in which the Legislative Assembly is due to expire and that is after the fourth Saturday in the preceding September.