

# **Regional Development Regulation 2018**

under the

**Regional Development Act 2004** 

His Excellency the Lieutenant-Governor, with the advice of the Executive Council, has made the following Regulation under the *Regional Development Act 2004*.

#### JOHN BARILARO, MP

Minister for Regional New South Wales

### **Explanatory note**

The object of this Regulation is to repeal and remake, without substantial alteration, the *Regional Development Regulation 2012*, which would otherwise be repealed by section 10 (2) of the *Subordinate Legislation Act 1989* on 1 September 2018. The new Regulation prescribes the local government areas that constitute the Sydney metropolitan area for the purposes of the *Regional Development Act 2004*.

The Act provides for financial assistance to those areas of New South Wales outside the Sydney metropolitan area.

The Regulation updates references to the names of certain local government areas to take account of recent council amalgamations.

This Regulation is made under the *Regional Development Act 2004*, including the definition of *Sydney metropolitan area* in section 4 (1) and section 16 (the general regulation-making power).

This Regulation comprises or relates to matters set out in Schedule 3 to the *Subordinate Legislation Act* 1989, namely matters of a machinery nature.

## **Regional Development Regulation 2018**

under the

Regional Development Act 2004

#### 1 Name of Regulation

This Regulation is the Regional Development Regulation 2018.

#### 2 Commencement

This Regulation commences on the day on which it is published on the NSW legislation website.

**Note.** This Regulation repeals and replaces the *Regional Development Regulation 2012*, which would otherwise be repealed on 1 September 2018 by section 10 (2) of the *Subordinate Legislation Act 1989*.

#### 3 Definitions

(1) In this Regulation:

*the Act* means the *Regional Development Act 2004*. **Note.** The Act and the *Interpretation Act 1987* contain definitions and other provisions that affect the interpretation and application of this Regulation.

(2) Notes included in this Regulation do not form part of this Regulation.

#### 4 Sydney metropolitan area

For the purposes of the definition of *Sydney metropolitan area* in section 4 (1) of the Act, the local government areas that constitute the Sydney metropolitan area are as follows:

Bayside, City of Blacktown, City of Blue Mountains, Burwood, Camden, City of Campbelltown, Canada Bay, Canterbury-Bankstown, Cumberland, City of Fairfield, Georges River, City of Hawkesbury, Hornsby, Hunter's Hill, Inner West, Ku-ring-gai, Lane Cove, City of Liverpool, Mosman, North Sydney, Northern Beaches, City of Parramatta, City of Penrith, City of Randwick, City of Ryde, Strathfield, Sutherland Shire, City of Sydney, The Hills Shire, Waverley, City of Willoughby, Wollondilly, Woollahra.

#### 5 Repeal and savings

- (1) The Regional Development Regulation 2012 is repealed.
- (2) Any act, matter or thing that, immediately before the repeal of the *Regional Development Regulation 2012*, had effect under that Regulation continues to have effect under this Regulation.