

# Parliamentary Remuneration Amendment Regulation 2011

under the

Parliamentary Remuneration Act 1989

Her Excellency the Governor, with the advice of the Executive Council, has made the following Regulation under the *Parliamentary Remuneration Act 1989*.

BARRY O'FARRELL, MP Premier

### **Explanatory note**

Section 6 of the *Parliamentary Remuneration Act 1989* provides for holders of certain offices specified in Schedule 1 to that Act to receive a salary and expense allowance in addition to the basic salary to which they are entitled as Members of Parliament. The additional salary and expense allowance to be received is expressed as a percentage of the basic salary.

The object of this Regulation is to amend Schedule 1 to the *Parliamentary Remuneration Act 1989* to specify the percentage of additional salary and expense allowance for Chairs of the various Committees established in the new Parliament. The percentage specified previously for holders of those offices was 7% and the percentage prescribed by this Regulation is 6.25%.

This Regulation is made under the *Parliamentary Remuneration Act 1989*, including section 6 (4) and section 21 (the general regulation-making power).

Clause 1 Parliamentary Remuneration Amendment Regulation 2011

# Parliamentary Remuneration Amendment Regulation 2011

under the

Parliamentary Remuneration Act 1989

#### 1 Name of Regulation

This Regulation is the Parliamentary Remuneration Amendment Regulation 2011.

#### 2 Commencement

This Regulation commences on the day on which it is published on the NSW legislation website.

Parliamentary Remuneration Amendment Regulation 2011

Amendment of Parliamentary Remuneration Act 1989 No 160

Schedule 1

# Schedule 1 Amendment of Parliamentary Remuneration Act 1989 No 160

#### Schedule 1 Additional salaries and expense allowances

Omit from Part 2 the matter relating to all offices of Chairs of Committees (other than the office of Deputy President and Chair of Committees in the Legislative Council).

Insert instead:

Chair of the Committee on Children and Young People constituted under the <i>Commission for Children and Young People Act 1998</i>	6.25%	6.25%
Chair of the Committee on the Health Care Complaints Commission constituted under the <i>Health Care Complaints Act 1993</i>	6.25%	6.25%
Chair of the Committee on the Independent Commission Against Corruption constituted under the <i>Independent Commission Against</i> <i>Corruption Act 1988</i>	6.25%	6.25%
Chair of the Committee on the Office of the Ombudsman and the Police Integrity Commission constituted under the <i>Ombudsman Act</i> 1974	6.25%	6.25%
Chair of the Legislation Review Committee constituted under the <i>Legislation Review Act 1987</i>	6.25%	6.25%
Chair of the Public Accounts Committee constituted under the <i>Public Finance and Audit Act 1983</i>	6.25%	6.25%
Chair of the Standing Committee on Parliamentary Privilege and Ethics of the Legislative Assembly	6.25%	6.25%
Chair of the Legal Affairs Committee of the Legislative Assembly	6.25%	6.25%
Chair of the Legislative Assembly Committee on Community Services	6.25%	6.25%
Chair of the Legislative Assembly Committee on Economic Development	6.25%	6.25%
Chair of the Legislative Assembly Committee on Environment and Regulation	6.25%	6.25%
Chair of the Legislative Assembly Committee on Law and Safety	6.25%	6.25%
Chair of the Legislative Assembly Committee on Transport and Infrastructure	6.25%	6.25%
Chair of the Social Policy Committee of the Legislative Assembly	6.25%	6.25%
Chair of the State and Regional Development Committee of the Legislative Assembly	6.25%	6.25%

Parliamentary Remuneration Amendment Regulation 2011

Schedule 1 Amendment of Parliamentary Remuneration Act 1989 No 160

Chair of the Privileges Committee of the Legislative Council	6.25% 6.25%
Chair of the Law and Justice Committee of the Legislative Council	6.25% 6.25%
Chair of the Social Issues Committee of the Legislative Council	6.25% 6.25%
Chair of the State Development Committee of the Legislative Council	6.25% 6.25%
Chair of the General Purpose Standing Committee No 1 of the Legislative Council	6.25% 6.25%
Chair of the General Purpose Standing Committee No 2 of the Legislative Council	6.25% 6.25%
Chair of the General Purpose Standing Committee No 3 of the Legislative Council	6.25% 6.25%
Chair of the General Purpose Standing Committee No 4 of the Legislative Council	6.25% 6.25%
Chair of the General Purpose Standing Committee No 5 of the Legislative Council	6.25% 6.25%
Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters	6.25% 6.25%
Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on Road Safety	6.25% 6.25%
Chair of the Joint Standing Committee on the Office of the Valuer-General	6.25% 6.25%

**Transitional provision.** On and from the commencement of the *Parliamentary Remuneration Amendment Regulation 2011*, the percentage prescribed in this Schedule by that Regulation applies, in respect of a person who holds the relevant office on the commencement of that Regulation, in relation to any period before that commencement during which that person held that office (unless it operates to reduce the amount to which that person is entitled in respect of that period).