

Duties (Marketable Securities) Order 1998

under the

Duties Act 1997

GORDON SAMUELS, Governor.

I, the Honourable Gordon Samuels AC, Governor of the State of New South Wales, with the advice of the Executive Council, and in pursuance of section 66 (1) (b) of the *Duties Act 1997*, make the following Order.

Signed at Sydney, this 24th day of June 1998.

By His Excellency's Command,

MICHAEL EGAN, M.L.C.,

Treasurer

Explanatory note

Section 66 (1) (b) of the *Duties Act 1997* exempts from duty under that Act certain transactions in respect of marketable securities if:

- (a) duty is chargeable on the sale or purchase of those marketable securities, or the sale or purchase is exempt from duty, or the transfer of those marketable securities is endorsed, under the provisions of an Act of another Australian jurisdiction that correspond to Chapter 4 (Marketable securities—on-market transfers (Broker provisions)) of the *Duties Act* 1997, and
- (b) those provisions are declared by order of the Governor to be corresponding provisions.

The object of this Order is to declare the provisions of Acts of other Australian jurisdictions that are corresponding provisions for the purposes of section 66 (1) (b).

Duties (Marketable Securities) Order 1998

1 Name of Order

This Order is the Duties (Marketable Securities) Order 1998.

2 Commencement

This Order commences on 1 July 1998.

3 Corresponding provisions

The following provisions are declared to be corresponding provisions for the purposes of section 66 (1) (b) of the *Duties Act* 1997:

Division 1 of Part V of the Stamp Duties and Taxes Act 1987 of the Australian Capital Territory

Sections 4-6 of, item 20 (1) and (2) of Schedule 1 to, and items 10–12 and 23 of Schedule 2 to, the *Stamp Duty Act* of the Northern Territory

Division 10 of Part III of the *Taxation (Administration) Act* of the Northern Territory

Sections 31A-31GA of the Stamp Act 1894 of Queensland

Division 2 of Part 3A of the *Stamp Duties Act 1923* of South Australia

Division 4 of Part IV of the Stamp Duties Act 1931 of Tasmania

Subdivisions (4AA) and (5) of Division 3 of Part 2 of the *Stamps Act* 1958 of Victoria

Division 3 of Part IVA of the *Stamp Act 1921* of Western Australia