

# Regional Development Regulation 2012

under the

Regional Development Act 2004

Her Excellency the Governor, with the advice of the Executive Council, has made the following Regulation under the *Regional Development Act 2004*.

ANDREW STONER, MP Minister for Regional Infrastructure and Services

# **Explanatory note**

The object of this Regulation is to remake, without substantial alteration, the *Regional Development Regulation 2004*, which is to be repealed by section 10 (2) of the *Subordinate Legislation Act 1989* on 1 September 2012. The new Regulation prescribes the local government areas that constitute the Sydney metropolitan area for the purposes of the *Regional Development Act 2004*. The Act provides for financial assistance to those areas of New South Wales outside the Sydney metropolitan area.

This Regulation is made under the *Regional Development Act 2004*, including the definition of *Sydney metropolitan area* in section 4 (1) and section 16 (the general regulation-making power).

This Regulation comprises or relates to matters of a machinery nature.

Regional Development Regulation 2012

# **Regional Development Regulation 2012**

under the

Regional Development Act 2004

## 1 Name of Regulation

This Regulation is the Regional Development Regulation 2012.

### 2 Commencement

This Regulation commences on 1 September 2012 and is required to be published on the NSW legislation website.

**Note.** This Regulation replaces the *Regional Development Regulation 2004* which is repealed on 1 September 2012 by section 10 (2) of the *Subordinate Legislation Act 1989*.

#### 3 Definition

- (1) In this Regulation:
  - the Act means the Regional Development Act 2004.
- (2) Notes included in this Regulation do not form part of this Regulation.

#### 4 Sydney metropolitan area

For the purposes of the definition of *Sydney metropolitan area* in section 4 (1) of the Act, the local government areas that constitute the Sydney metropolitan area are as follows:

Ashfield, City of Auburn, Bankstown City, Blacktown City, Blue Mountains City, Botany Bay City, Burwood, Camden, Campbelltown City, Canada Bay, Canterbury City, Fairfield City, Hawkesbury City, Holroyd City, Hornsby, Hunter's Hill, Hurstville City, City of Kogarah, Ku-ring-gai, Lane Cove, Leichhardt, Liverpool City, Manly, Marrickville, Mosman, North Sydney, Parramatta City, Penrith City, Pittwater, Randwick City, Rockdale City, Ryde City, Strathfield, Sutherland Shire, City of Sydney, The Hills Shire, Warringah, Waverley, Willoughby City, Wollondilly, Woollahra.